Sat. May 15th: Gypsy Acid Queen at TK

CHARLES A. WESTFALL /GYPSY ACID QUEEN
Exhibition dates: May 15, 2010 – June 19th, 2010
Opening Reception: Saturday, May 15, 7pm -10pm
Artist Talk: Saturday, May 22, 4pm – 6pm

Twin Kittens Gallery is pleased to present Gypsy Acid Queen featuring new paintings by artist Charles A. Westfall. The exhibition will be on view from May 15, 2010 through June 19th, 2010. An opening reception will be held Saturday, May 15 from 7-10pm and an Artist Talk/Q&A on Saturday, May 22 from 4pm-6pm.

In his most recent body of work Charles A. Westfall uses painting to engage with notions and archetypes of female aggression, power and violence.

“Violence, like anything else, is gendered and comes in masculine and feminine varieties. The show’s title is adapted from the song ‘Acid Queen’ by The Who, about a father who has arranged a meeting between his son and a prostitute/drug dealer –the self described ‘Acid Queen’– who has promised to cure the boy of his behavioral problems. As the father of a six-year-old son, this scenario really frightened me. Listening to the song, I was reminded that violence, corruption, malice, all things we generally want to associate with men and the masculine, also have a very real, and equally sinister, feminine side:

If your child ain’t all he should be now
This girl will put him right.
I’ll show you what he could be now
Just give me one night.
I’m the Gypsy – the acid queen.
Pay before we start.
I’m the Gypsy – I’m guaranteed.
I’ll tear his soul apart.

Give us a room, close the door
Leave us for a while.
Your boy won’t be a boy no more
Young, but not a child.
I’m the Gypsy – the acid queen.
Pay before we start.
The Gypsy – I’m guaranteed.
To tear your soul apart.

My work is done now look at him
He’s never been more alive.
His head it shakes his fingers clutch.
Watch his body writhe!
I’m the Gypsy – the acid queen.
Pay before we start.
I’m the Gypsy – I’m guaranteed.

To break your little heart.

It’s the perversion of a supposed feminine ideal (mother, nurturer, etc.) into something cruel, destructive, predatory and rapacious, which the song presents, that I found particularly unsettling. In these paintings I’m trying to work through and come to terms with that idea or that presentation. I suppose that if you really wanted to simplify it, on a certain level these are paintings of witches.” –Charles A. Westfall

Charles A. Westfall: was born in Albany, New York in 1980 and currently resides with his wife and children in Athens, Georgia. He is a contributing writer for Burnaway.org. This is his first solo-exhibition in Atlanta.

For more information, e-mail jeffguy@twinkittens.com.

WEB: www.twinkittens.com
TEL: 404 803 4316
ADDRESS: 1016 Howell Mill Rd. NW Unit 3208 Atlanta, GA 30318 (Entrance is located on 10th St.)
HOURS: M-TH 11-5pm & Every Third Sat. 11-5pm

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

